top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteph B.

Mustard Fried Chicken

Updated: Jul 8, 2020

So we're adding mustard to our seasoning for fried chicken these days. Apparently this method has been around for decades. I posted a recipe on my YouTube channel and viewers are in my comments basically telling me that I'm late to the mustard fried chicken party.

I am a part of multiple food and blogger groups on social media and one of the most requested how to's is fried chicken. Specifically mustard fried chicken. One of my group mates asked for a breakdown of how to prepare fried chicken and when to incorporate the mustard. I decided to create a recipe video that I could share with my girls who are newbie cooks.


There are so many mixed opinions on washing raw chicken. I always thought rinsing raw meat was a thing. My mother washed her chicken, my grandmother washed hers also. As a matter of fact, I find it odd not to at least rinse my chicken before cooking. My concern is the handling before it reaches my home. Apparently some culinary folks said it wasn't necessary to wash raw chicken and that it in fact spreads bacteria through out your kitchen. Well, culinary experts aren't the boss of my kitchen, so I'm not nixing the chicken washing yet. I handle raw meat carefully, and sanitize my sink and counters thoroughly. For sanitary reasons please be careful when washing chicken.

To prevent splashing while cleaning - avoid running the water over the chicken.


Ingredients:

  • Chicken Wings (about 2 lbs)

  • Lime / Vinegar (For prepping chicken)

Season to taste:

  • 1 tbsp. Accent

  • Salt (Go light on the salt. About ~1 tsp. is all you will need. You can also omit the salt all together since the other seasonings contain salt. Kosher salt is also an option. )

  • Black pepper

  • Chicken seasoning or your go to all purpose seasoning (cajun, creole... )

  • Garlic Powder (I forgot to add to the video)

  • Paprika

  • Goya Sazon packet

  • Yellow mustard

  • Frying oil (vegetable oil or shortening, canola oil)

The Dredge:

  • All purpose flour

  • Corn starch

  • White pepper

  • Black Pepper

  • Chicken or all purpose seasoning

What you will need:

  • Large container to soak chicken

  • large heavy bottom frying pan or pot - deep enough to fill oil halfway

  • Tongs or long handled utensil (fork, spider)

  • Wire cooling rack OR A large bowl with layered paper towel.

Prepping your chicken:

  1. Let the water fill up in a large bowl and gently rinse down the drain when done.

  2. After removing chicken from packaging add to a bowl.

  3. Inspect your chicken. Remove any feathers and trim any excess fat you don't want to eat.

  4. Fill bowl "halfway" up with water.

  5. Add 1/2 cup vinegar and lime juice to the chicken and let sit for ~ 15 minutes.

  6. Rinse your chicken in cold water. Remove excess water. Set aside.

  7. *Wash your hands!

Seasoning:

Season your chicken vigorously.

Go light on the seasonings that contain salt.

Add 2-3 Tbsp mustard. Combine and mix through your chicken.

*Wash your hands!!!!


*Add oil to pan - approximately 1/2 full

Heat oil over medium - high heat.


Prepare your flour dredge:

  1. Add All purpose flour, cornstarch, white pepper, black pepper and chicken seasoning to a bowl or paper bag. Mix through.

  2. Add a few chicken wings to the bowl at a time. Coat in flour.

  3. If you are using a cooking thermometer, oil should be about ~350 degrees.

  4. Add chicken to hot oil one piece at a time.

  5. After about 10-12 minutes turn chicken over - (you may have to go as high as 15 minutes)

  6. While chicken is frying, prepare your cooling rack or bowl to drain your chicken.

  7. When both sides are browned evenly, carefully remove chicken from oil and drain.

*Do not overcrowd chicken in the frying pan.

*Use tongs or a long handled utensil to remove chicken.

Enjoy :)



3,305 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page