top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteph B.

One Wok Ramen Stir Fry

Updated: Jul 27, 2020

I’m determined to make fetch happen with fried ramen. I’m sure it’s already a thing, I just don’t see it enough. It’s too hot to eat soup right now. I need my noodle fix in other tasty ways...know what I mean?

I follow tons of food accounts on social media. Food lovers, chefs, home cooks, enthusiasts all of these multiple foodie types. Everyone has their own interpretation of their relationship with food. I consider myself a home trained cook, taught by the best non-professional food preparers in the world. Mom and Grandma. I looked at my enhanced ramen today and smiled. I don't know if they would be on board with my modern day recipe shortcuts. Food was labor intensive when I was growing up. Hours of prep, then more time to actually cook the meal. Have you ever spent a whole day in the kitchen to prepare a meal? You know what I mean. My elders shrug and cackle at quick meals.


Lately, I've been trying to find different ways to prepare convenient meals. I'm all in for a big dinner a few days a week, but on my work days, I try to whip up foods that are a bit less time consuming. I've been literally throwing everything in a big skillet and keeping it moving.

I have frozen steamable vegetables on hand, I separate my meat into smaller ziploc packages for easy thawing, then all I have to do is add some spices. Today's meal was just that simple. So simple I don't know if it even classifies as a recipe. It's a throw together.


Ingredients:

2 packs ramen noodles

1/2 lb. or 1 cup thawed imitation crabmeat (You can use shrimp as well)

1 bag steamable broccoli (mixed vegetables also go great here if you have)

6 Mini bell peppers - multi color (sub. 2 regular bell peppers )

3 cloves garlic/ chopped

2 green onions / chopped and separated into whites and greens

4 Tbsp. sesame oil

4 Tbsp. cooking oil

1 Tbsp. hot chili oil

1/4 cup dark soy sauce ( it may say sweet soy sauce)

Salt & black pepper to taste

Seafood seasoning

Garlic powder

1/2 tsp. flavored bouillon (I used beef)


Prep:

Boil ramen noodles for two minutes, add 1 seasoning packet, toss and and drain.

Steam broccoli in the microwave for 1 minute less than the package time.

Lightly season thawed crabmeat with kosher salt, pepper, seafood seasoning, garlic powder.


Directions: (Wok should be on medium heat to cook vegetables and crabmeat.)

  • Heat ~4 Tbsp. cooking oil in a wok or non-stick pan

  • Saute mini bell peppers for 2 minutes

  • Add the whites of the green onions

  • Add the chopped garlic

  • Add broccoli.

  • Season vegetables with salt, pepper, garlic powder.

  • Toss all the vegetables until combined.

*Note - Before adding crabmeat , if more oil is needed. Add it here.

  • Add imitation crab meat. Toss around 5 minutes to cook through.

  • Put crab and vegetables in a bowl. (Yes I know it says "one wok." Stay with me :)

  • Drain any crab juice left in the pan. You want these babies to lightly fry.

  • Add 4 Tbsp. sesame oil to the hot pan

  • Increase heat to medium- high to cook noodles

  • Toss in cooked ramen.

  • Season lightly with black pepper, garlic powder, and flavored bouillon.

  • add sesame oil, hot chili oil, and soy sauce. Toss until seasonings marry.

  • Flatten noodles in the pan and let cook for 1-2 minutes. This will allow the noodles to crisp up a bit.

*Note -If you notice sticking. Add a tbsp of sesame oil and move around slightly.

  • Lower heat to medium low.

  • Add vegetables and crabmeat back to the pan. Toss all ingredients together.

  • Turn of heat and let hang out together for 1-2 minutes.

  • Add the green of the green onions.

  • Serve with sweet chili sauce on top.


As I mentioned, this was a throw together meal. You can toss any of your favorite vegetables or meat into this dish. This is also a meal where you can go MEATLESS, and did I mention affordable? It's really tasty and everyone will leave the table satisfied. The two packs of ramen stretch a long way. For bigger portions just double the recipe.


Did you guys know that I'm all over social media?

Feel free to follow and give me a shout out!


@Shakenbakenblog



311 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page