top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteph B.

My Favorite Summer Salad...

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

The idea of fruit in a salad baffled me years ago. Who would dare put pears in a bowl with mixed greens? What kind of dressing goes with fruit and lettuce? Then one day for lunch, I tried the signature salad from a nearby Cosi restaurant in Manhattan...and the rest is history.



If you’ve ever had the pleasure of having a salad from Cosi restaurant, then I'm sure you have experienced the greatness of their signature salad. It is hands down my favorite salad with a dressing that will have you licking the bowl. I miss living in the big city where I have access to all my favorite foodie spots. I used to love click-clacking around midtown, meeting my friends for lunch, eating big salads, and drinking strange fruit teas. For now, I have to improvise up here in the 'burbs. There are numerous copycat recipes online for the signature salad, but I had to search high and low for that delectable shallot dressing. A few came very close. After what seemed like an endless search, I was able to narrow down my favorite copycat recipe thanks to The Brown Eyed Baker.

 

The Cosi signature salad is the first salad I’ve eaten with fruit in it. It's a nice variation of textures, with a perfect combination of salty and sweet from the nuts, cheese and fruit. I added leftover baked chicken from dinner the night before. My hubby sliced up a boiled egg in his. No egg for me. I kinda felt like that would move us in another direction with the flavor and texture. The added spicy chicken was a great companion to the sweet fruit. Now, if only I could master the recipe for that slice of bread heaven they serve with the salad.

At any rate, my big sweet, fruity, nutty, salad was a success. I think I saw a salad with grilled watermelon and feta cheese that I would like to try next. I'm on it...

                                 

This recipe is an adaptation of the signature salad

*Note: The Original Cosi salad does not have chicken or eggs.

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups mixed greens

1 cup cooked chicken, chopped

1 gala apple - skin on, diced

1 pear, peeled and diced 1 cup red grapes - halved 1/4 cup dried cranberries 1/4 cup shelled pistachios 1/4 cup ounces blue cheese(crumbled)

Shallot Vinaigrette Dressing 1 large minced shallot 2 cloves minced garlic 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper 1/2 cup sherry vinegar (substitutes red wine, champagne, or rice wine vinegar)

3/4 cup light olive oil ( label reads for baking or frying)

1 tbsp honey

Combine shallots, garlic, salt, pepper, honey, and vinegar in a small bowl and whisk to combine.

Prepare salad.


DIRECTIONS:

  • Rinse and thoroughly dry all salad ingredients.

  • Layer lettuce into a large bowl.

  • Add fruit on top of lettuce

  • Add chopped chicken

  • Toss salad ingredients.

  • Slowly whisk olive oil into the vinegar mixture.

  • Pour over salad and toss to combine.

  • Add crumbled cheese on top.

  • Serve immediately.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page